OAU Drive, Tower Hill, Freetown


21st January, 2014                      


The Sierra Leone unicameral legislature, popularly known as Parliament has today the 21st January, 2014 elected its former Majority Leader and Leader of Government Business Sheku B.B Dumbuya as its New Speaker from among Parliamentarians for the first time, following the passage into law of The Constitutional Amendment Act, 2013.
The Clerk of Parliament, Mr. Ibrahim Sesay presided over the election of Mr. Speaker as provided for in Section 79 of Act No 6 of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone, and Standing Order 8 of Parliament. The Clerk reminded the House of the current standings of the two political parties: APC 70 seats; SLPP 42, and 12 Paramount Chiefs bringing the total to 124; out of which you need to win 83 votes (2/3) to be elected as Speaker of Parliament. At the time for nominations for the position of Speaker, Hon. Ibrahim R. Bundu of APC nominated the former Majority Leader, and was seconded by Hon. Dr. Bernadette Lahai, the Minority Leader of SLPP. Whilst Hon. Umar P. Tarawally of SLPP nominated, and Hon. Bashiru Silikie of SLPP seconded the candidature of Hon. Dr. Bubuakei Jabbie of SLPP. The Clerk did a roll call whilst Members were casting their votes. After voting, sorting, and tallying, it was revealed that 115 Members voted, and 9 were absent. According to the valid votes cast upon first ballot; the presiding Clerk returned the former Majority Leader representing Constituency 100 who polled 100 votes as the new Speaker for Sierra Leone Parliament; and his main challenger trailed with 15 votes.
Sheku B.B Dumbuya therefore won the votes, robed, and took his seat respectively to execute his first duty which was to preside over the election of Deputy Speaker as also provided for in Section 80 of the 1991 Constituion and Standing Order 9 of Parliament: a position that is now terminal rather than the previous sessional approach. Hon. Komba E. Kodoeyoma of SLPP nominated, and Hon. Claude D.M Kamanda of APC seconded the nomination of Hon. Chernor R.M Bah of APC who was returned unopposed, retained the said position and took the oath as inscribed in the Third Schedule of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone.
Members expressed a lot of felicitations towards the Speaker and his Deputy and encouraged them to conduct the sittings and affairs of Parliament with patience and humility; understanding and cooperation; fairness and impartiality; evenhandedness; institutional and capacity building to MPs and staff of Parliament: thereby instilling discipline and giving a facelift to Parliament among others.
In their responses, the Speaker assured that he will be impartial in conducting the affairs of Parliament; was palpably moved by the effusion of praises heaped on him; and will do everything in his power not to misplace the confidence reposed on him; whilst his Deputy pointed to the idea of a united Parliament, and called on leaders of political parties to foster unity in parliament instead of doing otherwise.
Meanwhile, Hon. Ibrahim R. Bundu of PortLoko is now the Majority Leader of Parliament, and his Deputy is Hon. Leonard S. Fofanah from Kenema; they have already taken their allocated seats; whilst the Majority Whip and Deputy have retained their positions.
Department of Public Relations
Parliament of Sierra Leone
OAU Drive, Tower Hill
About CEN 755 Articles
Critique Echo Newspaper is a major source of news and objective analyses about governance, democracy and human-right. Edited and published in Kenema city, eastern Sierra Leone, the outlet is generally referred to as a level plying ground for the youths, women and children.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.